City of Charlotte Government

This is a PDF. Contact us for editable presentation document.



THE CITY

- ★ Municipality = city, town, village
- ★In Mecklenburg County
 - One city Charlotte
 - Six towns Cornelius, Davidson, Huntersville, Matthews, Mint Hill and Pineville
- ★No legal difference between a city, town or village – is preference of the residents

COUNCIL-MANAGER

- ★Charlotte is one of the largest US cities with this form of government
 - Manager reports to city council
 - City Council votes on Manager's recommendations
- ★Responsibilities divided
 - Elected Officials + Appointed City Manager
- ★Provides skilled professional administration for city government

CITY SERVICES

★Community Health and Safety

- Police*, Fire/Emergency Services, Animal Control*
- Water/Sewer*, Garbage, Yard Waste, Recycling

★Transportation

Bus, Train (Rapid Transit), Airport

★Infrastructure

Build/maintain city streets, street lights, sidewalks

★Planning and Development

- Land Use, Zoning, Housing, Neighborhood Development
- Economic Development/Jobs

* Consolidated Service with County



WHO RUNS THE CITY?

The Mayor and City Council



- Elected
- 12 Total Members
- Establishes priorities on community needs, sets policy, establishes the budget, levies taxes, creates ordinances

Charlotte City Manager



Marcus Jones

Hired by City Council

and

Responsible for daily operations of the city

CITY MANAGER

★ Responsibility

- Carries out the City Council's policy decisions
- Provides vision and leadership
- Oversees daily operations of City government

★Key administrative officer of the City

 Assisted by a leadership team made up of Deputy and Assistant City Managers and members of the Manager's staff

MAYOR

- ★ Elected every 2 years
- ★ Presides at City Council meetings
 - Votes in the event of a tie
 - Has veto authority
- ★ With City Council, is responsible for establishing the general policies for City
- ★ Chief spokesperson for the City
 - Represents city at ceremonies and events
 - Local, state, national, international



Mayor
Jennifer Roberts
(D)

CHARLOTTE CITY COUNCIL

- ★Elected every 2 years
 - 4 members by citywide vote (at-large)
 - 7 members from voters in districts
- ★ Key roles
 - Establish general policies for City (with mayor)
 - Appoint positions
 - City Manager, City Attorney, City Clerk
 - Boards and Commissions members
 - Review annual budget, set tax rate, oversight for City operations, authorize contracts.
 - Enact ordinances, orders (laws at local level)
 - Graffiti, noise, curfew



CITY COUNCIL MEMBERS



At-Large
Vi Lyles
(D) Mayor Pro-Tem



Julie Eiselt (D)



Claire Fallon (D)



James Mitchell (D)



District 1
Patsy Kinsey
(D)



Al Austin
(D)



District 3
LaWana Mayfield
(D)



District 4
Gregory Phipps
(D)



District 5
John Autry
(D)



District 6Kenny Smith
(R)



District 7
Ed Driggs
(R)

CITY BUDGET

- ★ FY2016 = \$2.119 billion
- ★ Sources of funds= Taxes, fees, other
 - Property tax=47.87 cents/\$100 of property
- ★ Where each dollar goes
 - 25 cents Public transportation (CATS, light rail, etc.)
 - 21 cents Airport
 - 17 cents Public Safety (Police, fire, etc.)
 - 14 cents Water and sewer
 - 11 cents Public works
 - 4 cents Housing, Economic Development
 - 4 cents City operations
 - 4 cents Storm water

NOT CMS!

Source: Mecklenburg County FY15-16 Tax Brochure

GET INVOLVED

- ★ Contact officials, follow issues
 - Social media: search Twitter hashtag #cltcc
- ★ Join Charlotte-Mecklenburg Youth Council
 - GenerationNation <u>www.generationnation.org</u>
- ★ City Council Meetings
 - Monday evenings at the Government Center
 - Who can attend? Anyone!
 - Sign up to speak or watch the meeting online
 http://charmeck.org/city/charlotte/CityCouncil/Pages/default.aspx